Toggle Accessibility Tools

MSU-National Society of Toxicology Meeting in Phoenix, AZ.

SOT 2014 Award Receipients

Each year the Society of Toxicology presents awards to distinguished toxicologists and students from around the world. At their 2014 annual meeting, a diverse group of faculty and students from Michigan State University were selected.


Norbert Kaminski
Norbert Kaminski
Senior Investigator Award
Immunotoxicology Specialty Section of the Society of Toxicology
Cheryl Rockwell
Cheryl Rockwell
Outstanding Young Immunotoxicologist Award and new Junior Councilor,
Immunotoxicology Specialty Section of the Society of Toxicology
Jay I. Goodman
Jay I. Goodman
2014 SOT Merit Award
William D. Atchison
William D. Atchison
2014 SOT Undergraduate Educator Award
Patricia E. Ganey
Patricia E. Ganey
Colgate Palmolive Grants for Alternative Research

Graduate Students

Kazuhisa Miyakawa

PDI/EITS student with Roth), CVSS/TEPSS Roger O. McClellan Student Award, Emil A. Pfitzer Student Award Poster Competition 1st place from the Drug Discovery Toxicology Specialty Section, and the Ronald G. Thurman Student Travel Award 1st place from the Mechanism Specialty Section.

Natalia Kovalova

Natalia gave an oral presentation at the 2014 Society of Toxicology Meeting titled "Evaluation of Aryl Hydrocarbon Receptor (AHR) Polymorphism G1661A on TCDD-Mediated Biological Activity in the Human B Cell."

Alexandra Colon-Rodriguez

(CMIB/EITS student with Atchison) Travel Award from the Hispanic Organization of Toxicologists of the SOT

Ashley Maiuri

In Vitro and Alternative Methods Specialty Section Student Award

Joe Zagorski

(CMB/EITS program with Rockwell), Immunotoxicology Specialty Section Best Student Award

Nikita Joshi

honorable mention for the Carl C. Smith Graduate Student Award from the Mechanisms Specialty Section of the SOT, 2014 Marcos Rojkind - ASIP Trainee Travel Award

Undergraduate Students

  • Lukas Gora (with Roth+Ganey lab)
  • Kelly VanDenBerg
  • Ricardo Rivera-Soto (University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo, PR)
  • Kia Z. Perez-Vale (with Atchison, I think) (University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo, PR)
  • Zuleirys Santana - Honorable mention Perry Gehring Award

Student travel awards

  • Crystal Colon
  • Celizbets Colon.

Share this story